Post-SOUP Reflections

Post-SOUP, pre-dinner. Here is the fact: I didn’t expect to win. Upon scanning the competition’s descriptions, my first thought was that a program addressing such basic needs as food for the hungry and citizenship for immigrants had me beat from the start. Creative writing is not a necessity, like eating and living in a free country are necessities. Unless, of course, you’re a creative writer, in which case to not write feels like dying. That is the reason I will continue to pursue funding for this program, because exercising creativity and learning to communicate effectively can make life profoundly more livable and fulfilling, especially for the kind of kid that I was when I was in middle school and high school. It’s a good thing for other types, too. It can enhance almost anybody‘s life, I think. But the misfits are my favorite, the ones for whom I stand at the cliff in the field of rye.

You must have come in during the middle of the conversation in my head. Let me back up. I just finished a short presentation at the Library SOUP event at the Michigan Library Association 2016 Annual Conference. It was a crowdfunding event, based on Detroit SOUP. Each participant voted with her/his ticket for the favorite of five programs presented. My program: the Teen Writers Journey to Publication, a Skype-connected writers’ group that meets in seven different library branches across the county. The Teen Librarian from the East Lansing Public Library won with her Wee Free Pantry idea. And good for her! She deserved it. She presented it well and it is a worthy idea.

For my part, I received a lot of great feedback. A friend told me I was “hands down, the best presenter” at the event. My bosses told me I looked natural up on stage. (Inside, I was screaming with anxiety. But one learns to disconnect and let another part of oneself take over. Which can also be learned through creative writing.) It was suggested that I “take it on the road” to some local civic groups to see if I could procure funding from them. It was also suggested that I try again next year at the SOUP. I intend to do both.

I’ve been meaning to connect with civic groups anyway to gauge interest in a local history wiki project and find people willing to contribute as writers or interviewees. Outreach is also maybe part of my job, as Marketing Assistant. Now that I know I can pull off a presentation, I think I’m ready to be more active in that capacity.

At any rate, it was a great opportunity and a big step in my professional development. Now, back to my MLIS homework … and maybe the Pub Crawl at 7 (which will be a Pop Crawl for me, but a chance to hang out, maybe) …

Leave a comment